BECOMING A BAIL BONDSMAN
STEP ONE: MEET REQUIREMENTS
NC MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS
- You must be a resident of the state of North Carolina for at least
six consecutive months before making application for a bail bondsman
and/or bail bond runner license.
- You must be at least 21 years of age.
- Have obtained a high school diploma or its equivalent
- Have knowledge, training, or experience of sufficient duration
and extent to provide the competence necessary to fulfill the responsibilities
of a licensee.
- Have no outstanding bail bond obligations
- Have no current or prior violations of Article 71 of Chapter 58
of the North Carolina General Statutes or of Article 26 of Chapter
15A of the North Carolina General Statutes.
- Not have been in any manner disqualified under North Carolina
law or any other state to engage in the bail bond business.
- Hold a valid and current North Carolina driver’s license or
valid North Carolina identification card issued by the Division
of Motor Vehicles.
Prohibited persons from obtaining a Bail Bonds License:
- Sheriff, deputy sheriff, other law enforcement officer, judicial
official, attorney, parole officer, probation officer, jailer, assistance
jailer, employee of the General Court of Justice, nor any other
public employee assigned to duties relating to the administration
of the criminal justice, nor the spouse of any such person.
- A person who is or has ever been convicted of a felony.
- A person who has been convicted of a misdemeanor drug violation
within the previous 24 months.
STEP TWO: TAKE A PRELICENSING CLASS (PLE)
class offered by the North Carolina Bail Agents Association that
includes a classroom test.
STEP THREE: SUBMIT AN ELECTRONIC APPLICATION
Complete/upload all required documentation and pay licensing application
fees (Discuss with Supervising Agent). The licensing application can
be accessed at https://i7lp.integral7.com/durango/do/candidate/registration/terms?ownername=ncdoi.
- $231 – Runner License (works for a Professional Bondsman)
- $311 – Surety Bondsman License
- State Bail Bond License Exam: $40
STEP FOUR: TAKE EXAM
Once your application has been approved by the NC DOI (Department
of Insurance), schedule and take your exam at Pearson Vue Testing
STEP FIVE: RECEIVE YOUR BAIL BONDING LICENSE
Once you pass your exam and have been approved by the NC DOI, you
will receive your Bail Bonding License in the mail within 10-12 business
JOINING OUR TEAM!
Interested candidates who are not already licensed should first
complete the PLE.
Possess one of the following:
- College Degree
- Military Experience (Honorably Discharged)
- Law Enforcement Experience
- In addition, have verifiable integrity, aptitude, a positive attitude,
and the ability to work successfully in a team environment.
- Agents are considered contractors and not employees
- Income is recorded on a 1099 Form